

PREMIERS 1897 1899 1901 1905 1932 1934 1935 1941 1942 1949 1951 1960 1969 1971 1975 1995 1999 2003 2013

MINUTES West Perth Football Club (Inc) 135th Annual General Meeting Held at the WPFC Function Room **Joondalup** Tuesday 23rd February 2021 7.00pm

1. Welcome and Apologies

WPFC President Dr Neale Fong (NF) opened the meeting and noted there was a Quorum at 7.07 pm. NF recognised the traditional owners of the land and welcomed all to the AGM noting what a great turn out of people. The full board of directors were in attendance. There were no noted apologies.

2. Attendance

Dr Neale Fong	Jim Caffieri	Paul Cox
Adam Myers	Richard Cohen	Tracy Gallagher
Adam Harby	Larry Lopez	Peter Ross
Joe McCarthy	Tracy Venner	Cameron Branch
Ross Kelly	Ricard Homsany	Peter Panegyres
Craig Turley	Brett Cousins	Glenn Britten
Dean Brunton	Dennis Cometti	Brett Raponi
Terry Stokesbury	Clayton Lasscock	Bill Spittles
David Dyson	Kim Rigoll	Darren Harris
Steve Trewhella	Leith Kelly	Diana Homsany
Laura Homsany	Lex Homsany	Simon Homsany
Mr Homsany	Frank Alvaro	Daniel Avery
Ernie Avery	Gaye Ewell	David Elsegood
Brad Elsegood	Andrew Anderton	Stan Broom
Len Bowman	Geoff Swan	Graham Woodford
Paola Zito	John Sewell	Roger Higgins
Trent Young	Steve Pitcher	Chris Erikson
Margaret Young	Greg Young	Rhys Young
Terry Hardie	Steve Maszynk	Vic Carbone
John Britten	Alison Backhouse	Sean Cowan
Barry Scoffern	Geoff Valentine	John Sleight
John Nykyforak	Peta Myers	Ernie Myers
John Milane	Ray Holden	Andy Gorton
John Bresser	Ken Ferguson	Darrell Kent
	Les Fong	

NUMBER ONE TICKET HOLDER Basil Zempilas PATRON David Elsegood





PREMIERS 1897 1899 1901 1905 1932 1934 1935 1941 1942 1949 1951 1960 1969 1971 1975 1995 1999 2003 2013

Acceptance of the 134th AGM Minutes

The 134th AGM minutes of 23 February 2021 were approved and confirmed as a true record.

4. Business Arising from the 134th AGM Minutes

There was no business arising from the previous 134th Annual General Meeting.

5. President's Report - Dr Neale Fong

The President referred all members to his Report in the Annual Report and highlighted the following points:

- A thank you to all our members, sponsors and fans who stuck with the club even though it was a very shortened season.
- Because of the financial conditions surrounding the season many people made personal financial sacrifices including our own staff and our players.
- Our relationship with the District through Andrew Ridley is also recognised.
- Our senior team performed so well and a Preliminary Final bow-out was not the result or the reward for such a great season.
- This year we also saw our women's teams come to life. Although no silverware for the women, much of the year was focused on preparing then applying for a full licence in the WAFL Women's competition in 2021.
- Thanks to Jim Caffieri who continued in his honorary part-time chief executive role supported from June 2020 by our new CEO Joe McCarthy and office staff led by Tracy Venner and assisted by Paola Zito (with kind thanks to Richard Homsany for assisting in providing the resource.
- Our negotiations with Venues West have been incredibly positive and after much goodwill and mutual understanding we are close to finalising for season 2021 a much more favourable arrangement for all parties.
- To all the committees, and especially the Life Members Association led by Bill Spittles and his team, and the Past Players and Officials Association led by Stan Broom and others, your work also contributes highly to a fully functioning and successful club.

NUMBER ONE TICKET HOLDER Basil Zempilas PATRON David Elsegood



PREMIERS 1897 1899 1901 1905 1932 1934 1935 1941 1942 1949 1951 1960 1969 1971 1975 1995 1999 2003 2013

- Heritage Committee led by Russell Ellen and Steve Trewhella have done much to improve the upstairs function area with addition of club memorabilia.
- Thank you to Phil O'Donnell who retired just at the end of the season because of work commitments. Both he and his wife Claire have been tireless workers both in the junior areas and in our club. we thank them for their strong contributions.
- Our connection to the club's junior clubs is also critical and we were glad to have Peter Ross co-opted to the board to ensure this relationship grows and that young talent is developed, and more kids play our great game.

5. Finance Report – Adam Myers

Adam Myers the WPFC finance director summarised the clubs' financial positions as per below and referred to the financial accounts in the annual report.

- 2020 net profit of \$300,961.00
- WPFC has begun paying back the WAFC loan as per the term and conditions of the loan.
- WPFC has satisfied all conditions of the loan financially and Adam thanked all members of the finance committee for their work through the year.
- 2020 saw an increase in our food and beverage income due to a new arrangement with Venues West in the back end of season where we managed all the F and B options at home
- WPFC chose not to use job keeper for our players based on the legal and accounting advice we received.

6. Election of Office Bearers - Dr Neale Fong

Four 2-year terms and one 1-year term positions were vacant on the board. The Club received four nominations for the 2-year terms and these individuals were elected unopposed without the need for a vote.

The elected directors were Paul Cox, Adam Myers, Tracy Gallagher and Adam Harby.

One nomination for the 1-year position was received. Richard Cohen was elected unopposed without the need for a vote and was welcomed onto the WPFC board as a new board member.

The President passed congratulations and welcomed all new board members. The board will hold its first meeting early next week where there will be elections of office bearers and appointments to the various committees. No questions were raised regarding the Election of Directors.

NUMBER ONE TICKET HOLDER Basil Zempilas PATRON David Elsegood





PREMIERS 1897 1899 1901 1905 1932 1934 1935 1941 1942 1949 1951 1960 1969 1971 1975 1995 1999 2003 2013

7. Appointment of the Auditor for 2021

The Board recommended William Buck be appointed as the West Perth Football Club Auditors for 2021. All members approved re-appointing William Buck as Club Auditors for 2021

8. Life Membership Nominations

- Ross Kelly
- **Richard Homsany**
- **Peter Panegyres**
- Ron Wilson
- **Craig Turley**
- **Brett Cousins**
- Glenn Britten
- **Dean Brunton**

All members approved the above life member nominations and the board congratulated them all on their achievements and commitments over many years to the Club.

9. General Business

No general business questions were received by mail or email.

10.Meeting Close

President Dr Neale Fong thanked everyone for their attendance and support of the football club in 2020. The meeting was closed 8.04 pm.

NUMBER ONE TICKET HOLDER Basil Zempilas PATRON David Elsegood